237.130 Week 4 TASK 1B – What kind of writer am I?

In response to the reading: Creme, Phyllis, and Mary R. Lea. “Reading as Part of Writing.” Writing at University: A Guide for Students. Maidenhead: McGraw-Hill Education, 2008. (71-76) eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 31 Jan 2016.

In terms of the reading, I think I identify most closely with, “The Architect Writer” (Creme, Lea 75) in most ways. I like to plan thoroughly and work with all my material in a visual way, laying it out in categorized areas and seeing how it will all fit together as a whole. But in other ways, I also identify with “The Patchwork Writer” (Creme, Lea 74) and the “The Grand Plan Writer” (Creme, Lea 74), in that I often build up my essay around different headings or topic sentences and then meld them together, and I always do extensive research and note taking. I found it useful to look at the way others write and identify with them; I got a better understanding of what my working methods are.

Usually before a large assignment the first thing I do is sit down and analyse the assignment brief; what they are asking of me, what they haven’t asked of me, what is expected but isn’t said. I usually make a mind map of potential answers if a question is posed, or of possible ways of looking at a question, or how I feel about a statement. I then do a lot of research and take thorough notes that I can refer back to. I put a lot of emphasis on tidy, systematic  working that I refer back to later. I like to compile quotes and relevant things to talk about under topic sentences, and build mini-paragraphs that way. I then write out the body paragraphs as draft wholes, and then revise and refine a lot later. Finally, I write the introduction and conclusion.

Leave a Reply

